EPA-certified woodstoves

Here is a simple guide to the types of new, EPA-certified stoves you will see in your local stove shop, and how they work. An understanding of these basic categories will simplify your stove shopping. 

The Basic Categories of EPA-Certified Stoves

Factor #1: How they achieve a clean burn

Catalytic stoves

Non-catalytic stoves

Factor #2: How they distribute heat:

Radiant stoves

Circulating stoves

Factor #3: How much heat they can produce:

Large, medium, and small stoves 

Factor #4: Installation Type:

Free-standing stoves

Fireplace inserts

Smoke Signals: Have a question about your chimney?